Making a light blink....help

Goal…

I have a garage tilt switch. Once the garage opens, I’d like my light to blink for a period of 10 seconds, then turn off/on depending on it’s last state.

I stumbled across this code which does the blinking perfectly, but I am clueless how to do the rest. This code simply runs indefinitely until the scene is run again. I don’t comprehend how to make a scene run twice, is it simple as that? I’m a novice with scenes and code so please walk me through this. Thanks

------ SET THESE TWO VARIABLES to match needs of your system -----
Secs = 2 ---->> Secs: Number of seconds between “Blinks”
Device = 6 ---->> Device: Device# of Outlet or Light to “BLINK”

Call =‘urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1’;Do =‘SetTarget’;Nil =“”
function BlinkOn()
luup.call_action(Call,Do,{newTargetValue=1},Device) -->BlinksOn
if (Run == “1”) then luup.call_timer(“BlinkOff”,1,Secs,Nil,Nil) end
end
function BlinkOff()
luup.call_action(Call,Do,{newTargetValue=0},Device) -->BlinksOff
if (Run == “1”) then luup.call_timer(“BlinkOn”,1,Secs,Nil,Nil) end
end
if (Run == “1”) then Run = “0” → NewClick while running=Stop,i.e.Run=0
else Run = “1” luup.call_timer(“BlinkOff”,1,Secs,Nil,Nil) -->Else go on
end

I stumbled across this from another thread, should do what I am looking for.

Will test out this evening:

[quote=“biggsworld, post:26, topic:167189”]I wanted to update this thread since there didn’t seem to be any others that met my specific criteria - you can certainly use this for alarms or any purpose you need.
In my case I installed a door sensor in my mailbox so it would tell me when the mail had arrived. (I know - but it’s fun to tinker with!) My specific needs were to blink a light and then return that light to it’s original setting - this is for notification only.