Mesh networking - need help, please

I have a Z-wave GE outlet under my sink that is supposed to turn on/off the instant hot water. I have never been able to get this outlet to work reliably… about half the time, I get a “Cannot contact device, error code 1…” message. Apparently the wood cabinet door is preventing reliable radio access to this outlet; why, I honestly don’t know, as I thought that radio signals would go right through wood. But having the cabinet door open or closed seems to affect it.

I’m a complete Z-wave newb, but I’m trying to figure out why this outlet isn’t correctly working in the mesh network. I’ve tried to map out my network, as follows:

Device name Device# AltID Neighbors
Instant 38 14 5,8
RecircPump 36 10 1,11
RoofHeat 5 5 1,11
Pantry 39 11 1,5,8,10
Doorlock 6 8 1,11

(Instant, RecircPump,Roofheat, and Pantry are all Z-wave outlets)
I’m assuming that the “Neighbors” field refers to the “AltID” field. Is this correct?
My guess to the issue here is that nobody considers “Instant” (the problem outlet) to be a neighbor. And Instant can’t see node 1.

I installed the outlet “Pantry” intentionally close to “Instant” in the hope that it would help relay messages to/from “Instant”. But that’s not working.

Is there some way I can force “Pantry” to see “Instant” as a neighbor and thus perform this relay function?

Or perhaps I’m way out in left field…

Thanks for any help!
Bryan

I don’t think AltID is that at all. Neighbours is the node with which each node communicates.
It appears that you can edit nearest neighbours directly which may be worth a try, or you can go to ‘Device Options’ and hit the button?

I’m no expert though…

C

Thanks for the response.

I tried to go to Device Options and hit “Update Neighbor Nodes” - it gives me a “Received Empty Response” message.

I also tried manually adding device 14 to the list of Neighbor Nodes for “Instant”, but it doesn’t want to take that addition.