Old user, New setup?

We’ve moved and I’m just beginning the painful process of re-automating our lives. We had a pretty complicated system set up on vera in our last home (300+ devices) and had gotten it to the point where it mainly just worked and required minimal maintenance.

So now that I’m starting fresh, I’m wondering if we’re better off buying a brand new vera and resetting/reprogramming all of the devices we were able to take with us or using our old vera and just renaming devices and deleting things we no longer have/don’t use.

While I’m dreading trying to figure out again how to set up some of the apps, from what I’ve read deleting things never truly deletes them and we might be better off starting anew. Given that the vera itself is one of the cheaper components, I’m willing to invest the additional $ to have a smoother running system.

Thoughts?

"We had a pretty complicated system … where it mainly just worked and required minimal maintenance. "

If your current box is running UI7 I would keep it since you mention it’s already tweaked for solid performance, and that shouldn’t change for any devices / luup that you leave on it. But if you’re coming from Edge or lower and looking for performance improvement I definitely recommend a new box.

This is a hot topic for me right now, as I only just started with UI7 two weeks ago on a VeraSecure. My 4-year old Vera3 on UI5 is rock-solid and continues as my main controller, but at this point I’ve collected way too many z-wave+ devices that I just couldn’t use. The thought of migrating all of my devices over gives me a headache, so I am definitely running both in parallel for while (thank you wget).

FWIW, first reactions to UI7 were “meh”, followed by confusion, followed by disgust, followed by discovery and now I am quite impressed. Yeah, it’s a bit buggy idiosyncratic but some of the plugins I am discovering that were previously unavailable to me on UI5 are amazing (virtual panel, reactor).