Overriding Reactor "night" scene

Hi.
I’m relatively new to Reactor. I am creating a “night” scene, where the bathroom light comes on, for 30seconds, @25% when triggered by a motion detector (sunset to sunrise). A variable I wish to add is if I turn the light on manually, (via the wall switch) at a higher brightness, I do not want the detector/scene to revert the light back to 25%. I need the switch to override the scene. I created the scene via creating a Motion ON and Motion OFF group, as per your YouTube video.
Thanking you in advance for your assistance.

Simon

Try adding another condition to your AND group:

[Device State] [Wall Switch] [Off]

Thanks Libra Sun.
It seems that I can only select a device (ie: light/relay/dimmer), not the actual light switch. I’m thinking I need to incorporate a “virtual switch” in this scenario, but not sure how?
Perhaps the sensor needs to trigger the virtual switch?

I was under the (perhaps mistaken?) impression you had a Vera-connected Z-Wave wall switch in use here. If so, judging from the screenshot above, I’d think that setup works.

That is, your Reactor routine might run when the sensor first detects motion (while the light is still off) during the assigned hours. Once the light is on, then your third condition goes false, hence the routine cannot fire again. Thus, if you were then to bring the light to full brightness manually (using the wall switch), then the routine would still be barred from running again.

Does this setup not work according to plan?? Am I missing something?

Be careful here, too… if the switch is in the “hot zone” of the motion sensor, you’re never going to successfully, consistently control it manually. The motion sensor will likely fire as you’re reaching for the switch and that goofs everything up. If the switch is in the hot zone, you need a different approach.

2 Likes