Scope to add Description as a variable e.g. gc_NextEventDesc

Hi @stuart

Not sure if this has been requested before, so i might be alone in this :slight_smile:

Would you consider adding the description of an event as another variable within your plugin ?

[quote=ā€œparkerc, post:1, topic:193564ā€]Hi @stuart

Not sure if this has been requested before, so i might be alone in this :slight_smile:

Would you consider adding the description of an event as another variable within your plugin ?[/quote]

I could easily add it to gc_jsonEvents and you can access it from there. How do you want to use it ?

Hi @Stuart

Iā€™ve been working to integrate my Vera with Panicā€™s Status Board app on iOS , and not being a programmer, I recently found a panel that I would like to try and tweak to reference variables held in your GCal app.

So if the description was to be added as its own variable, I would look to include it in a new panel(HTML widget) which I would try to generate and host on Vera.

** if there was scope to search the description for keywords too, that could come in handyā€¦**

Ive attached an example.

I will make a change so that the description information is included in the gc_jasonEvents variable. That way - you can build your own scene and play with Lua code to get it to do whatever you want.

Iā€™ll post an updated file in the next day or two.

Thanks so much @Stuart

One other thing - as Iā€™m not a programmer/developer, would you know how I would remove the ā€˜[{ā€™ characters that will already be in the gc_JsonEvents variable field when you add the Description ?

The [{ is displayed in UI5 is because UI5 is not displaying what it should. The variable is an encoded json string but itā€™s being truncated in the UI. There really is data there !