Setting different level of notification for each device

Hi, I apologize if this topic has been brought up before. I’m relatively new to vera, been using it for about 6 months and I haven’t been able to get notification to work the way I expected it to. I’m using UI5 btw.

First of all, there is no concept of difference level of notification (e.g. logging -> email -> text msg). The only option is either to enable all email or all text messages by the setting it in ‘My Contact Info’ under Account tab.

Ideally, it would be great if each device can be configured for either logging, email or text msg. I assume activity on certain devices are more important than the others, so different level of notification is necessary.

For example, I have many light switches, I don’t want to get text msg or even email notification every time they’re on/off, 'cause these devices is less critical. However, I would still like to log their activity, so I would set them to just log the activity.

Another example is, I have side door entry into the house that shouldn’t get use and it’s important that I get notify immediately if sensor is tripped, so I would set the door sensor for this device to the text msg notification (and also still log the event).

I like to hear other people experience with notification and see if anybody know of plugin that would allow to set this type of notification.

Thanks in advance!

0 Likes

If you want to log events rather than send notifications, check-out EventWatcher.

You can get a lot more control over notifications by using VeraAlerts.

0 Likes

VeraAlerts is what I use to send email notification. Even with VeraAlerts, that still rely on notification on each device being either enabled or disabled. I haven’t use EventWatcher, will check it out, thanks.