Solution: PIR motion-controlled Mimolite binary input triggering Blue Iris camera recording

I almost don’t believe I wrote the title of this post, since I was a newbie 2 months ago - and probably still am.

This post is meant to be a “thanks” to the community of those who helped me in the past and for those who may have similar challenges or objectives. I hope my experiences help one other person.

My objectives:

• Control Blue Iris recording from my driveway motion sensor
  • Use an alternative to native camera motion detection (due to false triggers from tree shadows on windy days)
  • Get a quality PIR sensor with sensitivity adjustment - most everything on the market is cheap junk

The solution I designed:

• Amcrest IP3M-943S – 2K 3MP 1080P bullet camera. Discontinued but works like a champ.
  • RAB Lighting STL360W Super Stealth motion detector. It is built like a truck. Is pricey but works great. I did not even hook it up with lights, since I have garage lanterns already and night IR lights in the camera. Also, lights in the same fixture as the PIR may at times cause false triggers or flaring on camera.
  • I set up the RAB for the minimum (5 second) motion duration. My Blue Iris recordings are set at 10 seconds minimum. Customize as you see fit.

Now, for the connections:

• I used the RAB light control output to control a 110V relay, Functional Devices RIB-U1C Relay in a Box

• I tied the output of the RIB-U1C to the binary input of the FortreZz MIMOlite. Basically using it for dry contact closure detection. MIMOlite is probably overkill for a binary input sensor, BUT I already had one installed for my garage door, so I was familiar with the device and decided to get a second one for this.

• FYI I tried to use a PIR Zwave motion sensor, but the PIR sensitivity was terrible. So I went with a better PIR device and a wired approach as described here.