Stability. And my current configuration

I moved all my automation to OpenHab back in December.

OpenHab has been rock solid. No flakiness. No missed events. No need to restart periodically. It just keeps on working.

At this point, my Vera handles all the z-wave communication. I have a restart scheduled every night.

OpenHab handles the automation.

My UI is mainly through the HomeWave iPhone app. And a couple of MiniMotes. Occasionally I’ll use the Vera app, but only generally for add/remove/configure type of operations. I do not use the OpenHab UI, except when I’m testing stuff.

I can certainly see why OpenHab wouldn’t be for everyone. But I’m a very competent programmer and doing the rules was pretty much a breeze. Even when dealing with code locks, modeling some rules as state machines, etc.

I use multiple instances of the multi-switch plugin to manually trigger rules (like setting my HVAC to “away mode”) and to communicate state back from OpenHab in order to display information on the client apps. I also use the multistring plugin for the same purpose.

I trigger alerts calling the HomeWave iPhone plugin from OpenHab rules. And/or send Pushover notifications directly from OpenHab.

I just thought I’d share my configuration and my experience with the Vera and OpenHab combination. Hope it was helpful or at least informative.

Doug

Thanks Doug!

The openHAB-Vera Hybrid seems to be a common case, esp using Vera for Z-Wave (where it’s fairly decent). If there are any common Rule snippets you found yourself using, feel free to augment the MiOS Examples page:

https://github.com/openhab/openhab/wiki/MiOS-Binding-Example

I’m sure there are other users that’ll benefit from your samples.

[quote=“guessed, post:2, topic:191543”] If there are any common Rule snippets you found yourself using, feel free to augment the MiOS Examples page:

https://github.com/openhab/openhab/wiki/MiOS-Binding-Example