Vera Mods Summary

I have initiated a couple of threads over the past year to discuss and share my attempts to make the vera more reliable and dependable while at the same time more secure. Over time some members have asked questions about them so figure I would post them here.
Please note first of all that none of these mods are supported by vera and you risk CS to not want to support you in case of issues.
I have also discussed these problems through a number of open tickets with CS and have not been able to get them fully resolved. They have however to their credit always attempted to help me and I am very grateful that this product is as open as it is in terms of allowing users to access it. It is just unfortunate that I have had to dig as deep into the firmware as I have in order to make it go from 90% reliable to 99% reliable. Yes there is still a 1% left. More on that later. I am not a coder and don’t even have much background in computer science. It took it as a hobby and have learned more than I wanted in the process.

First as background, the vera is based on a router hardware running on various versions of an opensource linux distribution for embedded devices: OpenWRT.
It’s firmware is very compact and space efficient with high compression in order to fit it on a device designed to be an appliance: ie. very little to no writing needed either logs or otherwise. And the onboard storage memory reflects this. It is designed to hold a firmware.
The firmware is broken down into three categories: Bootloader, Kernel and the root file system aka rootfs and each is stored in a different partition. the vera actually has 11 nested partitions.
In comparison to a PC, this would be roughly the equivalent of Bootloader=BIOS, Kernel=Low level operating system, rootfs=higher level operating system (user interface and programs) and files system/storage. More info about it here: [OpenWrt Wiki] The OpenWrt Flash Layout