Migrating to reactor -- Need advise on overlapping reactor conditions

Good afternoon all,
Being at home for the foreseable future on COVID lockdown, I started playing around today with Reactor, moving some of my programming from Vera Scenes and PLEG. I’ve had some issues as of late with PLEG, just trying to get my head around some of the conditions, and I keep getting told to try Reactor. So, I am.

I’m trying to start simple before I move into my more logic intense PLEG conditions. What I’m starting with is my home blinds automation.

What I’ve set up so far is basically weekend and weekday routines to open and shut my window blinds. Very straight forward. It act’s upon House Mode, Weekday, and Sunrise/sunset conditions, and time of day for weekends (so I can sleep in).

In PLEG, I have some logic to control certain windows based upon the Helitrope app. I can do the same thing with Reactor, but what I’m trying to figure out is this. If the Reactor 1 conditions are true, I’m home, day/time conditions are correct, and then Reactor 2’s conditions become true, which alters the blind angle to reduce the sun coming directly into those windows, would the Reactors conflict? Will the first reactor see that the blind state has changed, and try and override the second?

Thanks for any advise.

1 Like

The answer is that whichever runs its activity last wins. The ReactorSensors do not know anything about each other (unless you teach them) or assume anything about what other ReactorSensors might do or not do. If that’s important to your logic, you need to build that into your logic. You can use “Group State” conditions to test the logic of other ReactorSensors. You can also just put all of the logic into a single ReactorSensor so it’s easier to follow.

Cool, that’s what I thought, but wanted to check.