Turn On lights if movement and turn off if dont detect movement for a while

Hi, newbie here ;D

I am trying to configure this scene to turn on the lights and TV when it detects movement and turn off the lights and TV when it doesn’t detect movement for a while.

Im using this luup code

local sensorDeviceNo = 23 – Motion Sensor device number
local lCacifos = 12 – Luzes Cacifos device number
local tTv = 11 – Tomada TV device number
local period = 300 – Seconds

local SS_SID = “urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:SecuritySensor1” – Security Sensor Service ID
local SP_SID = “urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1” – Switch Power Service ID

function checkLastTrip()
local lastTrip = luup.variable_get (SS_SID, “LastTrip”, sensorDeviceNo) or os.time()
if (os.difftime (os.time(), tonumber (lastTrip)) >= period) then
luup.call_action (SP_SID, “SetTarget”, {[“newTargetValue”] = 0}, lCacifos) – Turn off Luzes Cacifos.
luup.call_action (SP_SID, “SetTarget”, {[“newTargetValue”] = 0}, tTv) – Turn off Tomada TV.
else
luup.call_delay (“checkLastTrip”, period) – Check when the sensor was last tripped every seconds.
end
end

luup.call_delay (“checkLastTrip”, period)

return true

The problem is while the sensor its detecting movement the lights and the tv keep turning off and they don’t turn on after that.

What i am doing wrong?

Thanks in advance :wink:

Hi @sillywalks,

I recognized that from the wiki Scripts for Scene examples. I also tried that code but it didn’t work correctly for me either.

The simplest way I’ve found with UI7 is to set up two scenes:

[ol][li]Motion On: Whenever {Device} detects motion whether is armed or disarmed → turn light/tv on[/li]
[li]Motion Off: Whenever {Device} stops detecting motion whether is armed or disarmed → turn light/tv off[/li][/ol]

The behavior I noticed from my motion sensors is that the “LastTrip” timestamp will update when motion has been detected AND when motion has stopped being detected (after some internal time ~ 4 mins).